Political Science & Public Administration

Impact the world.

Are you intrigued by current events, policy formulation, or the day-to-day operations of government? The Department of Political Science and Public Administration offers a dynamic curriculum to prepare students for graduate studies or careers in the public, nonprofit, and private sectors.

Our department offers two undergraduate majors: Political Science and Public Administration, both through the College of Business and Public Administration.

Our Programs 

Degrees Offered

Certificates Offered

Our Mission

The University of North Dakota Department of Political Science and Public Administration's mission is "to serve the global, national, state, and local community by providing teaching, research, and service." Specifically,

  1. In its teaching mission, the Department is committed to the liberal arts mission of the university and strives to develop students' communication skills and critical and independent thinking. It also provides professional education to prepare students to assume leadership positions in the public, non-profit, and private spheres because of their understanding of the roles and responsibilities of public service. The Department stresses to students the importance of civic involvement and an understanding of democratic processes and outcomes;
  2. In its research mission, the Department produces basic research to understand the functioning of the public sector, the role of citizens, and the relationship between the public and private sectors in society. It also produces applied research that contributes to the efficient and effective functioning of the public sector for the improvement of society;
  3. In its service mission, the Department is committed to contributing to the governance and functioning of the university and using its expertise to benefit the broader communities at the local, state, national, and international levels. The Department also serves its professional community by being active in national and international professional organizations and participating in continuing education activities sponsored by those organizations.

Truman Scholarship Award Winners

The College of Business and Public Administration has a long tradition of acclaimed Truman Scholarship winners dating back to 1978 to 2011 with UND Students awarded scholarships most recently in 2010 and 2011.

The Truman Scholarship Foundation was established by Congress in 1975 as the federal memorial to our thirty-third President. The Foundation awards scholarships for college students to attend graduate school in preparation for careers in government or elsewhere in public service. The activities of the Foundation are supported by a special trust fund in the US Treasury. There have been 2730 Truman Scholars elected since the first awards were made in 1977.

Students are elected by sixteen independent selection panels on the basis of leadership potential, intellectual ability, and likelihood of 'making a difference.' Each Scholarship provides up to $30,000 for graduate study. Scholars also receive priority admission and supplemental financial aid at some of the premier graduate institutions, leadership training, career and graduate school counseling, and special internship opportunities within the federal government. Recipients must be US citizens, have outstanding leadership potential and communication skills, be in the top quarter of their class, and be committed to careers in government or the not-for-profit sector.

The College of Business & Public Administration is proud to acknowledge the great accomplishments of our Truman Scholarship Winners as well as the well-established tradition from our distinguished Alumni.

Jed Hanson - 2016

Erin Elizabeth Barta - 2011

Grant Hauschild - 2010

McLain J. "Mac" Schneider - 2001

Jonathan Sickler - 1998

Mark Ewen - 1992

Sarah Fugleberg-Flatness - 1990

Denise Flanagan - 1988

Kathy Hill - 1984

Jennifer Urff - 1984

Peggy Kuhn - 1983

Cynthia Beyer-Ulrich - 1982

Michael Liffrig - 1979

Karen Rehwaldt-Sand - 1978

Note: UND had finalists in 2003, 2005, and 2009